The Interview: The Good Wife Music Composer

If Washington law firms were as humorous and dramatic as the fictional practice of Stern, Lockhart & Gardner, it might be fun to work for one. The Good Wife starring Julianna Margulies is a unique show that has garnered critical acclaim and steady ratings – a rare combination in the world of television. One of many appealing aspects is the show’s music score. It gives the drama a very contemporary, yet elegant feel. We caught up with David Buckley who serves as the music composer.

1. How did you land yourself a gig on The Good Wife? I scored a movie for Scott Free a couple of years ago, and Ridley [Scott] and Tony [Scott] are executive producers on The Good Wife too, so that gave me a bit of an in, but I had to do a couple of rounds of demos to clinch the deal.

2. How do you capture the essence of a scene? Like I would with film, I watch the scene over and over again, and then also look at it in context of the whole picture. It’s a fast turn around with little time to experiment so I find I have to trust my instincts.

3. Your style of music is contemporary (for the series), is that a continuation of Danny Lux’s work? I don’t know Danny Lux’s work. I heard some of the music on his episodes and thought it was quite attractive. I think our scores are pretty different. (that is not to say that I think my music is unattractive!)

4. How did you break into the music industry and what advice would you give to aspiring artists? I’ve been involved in music from an early age and have been fortunate to meet some incredible people in my journey, who have helped me make things happen. It’s a famously tough industry to break into, so I think it’s the same old stuff really – work hard, learn from those you admire, try and find your own voice, bounce back when you get knocked down (because you will, trust me!).

5. Any favorite composers whose work you follow? I don’t really listen to any one composer or artist. My iTunes library is pretty eclectic.

Note – This post was originally published on May 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

